Chit Chat, Faith

SOCIAL MEDIA ETIQUETTE SERIES/ARGUMENTS

I am actually one of those types of people who hardly comment on posts, but when I do, I make sure it’s something positive and believe me when I tell you that there a certain times when I see a post that I disagree with and I would want to comment so bad

[sometimes I would have started typing], but then I’ll ask myself if I’m ready for one random person to tag me and want to start a battle or argument with me and then I’ll erase what I’ve typed or if I haven’t typed anything I will just leave the page or scroll down and it can be very hard but it’s worth it and although I may not want to type something hurtful but I really want to avoid anything that brings about unnecessary arguments on social media because I’ve seen some social media battles and trust me when I tell you that it can get downright ugly, from sarcasm to casual arguments then to checking one another’s page just to look for something to use against the other person or to insult the other person [I wonder why people go through that stress]. The Bible even warns us against arguments;

“It is one’s honor to avoid strife,but every fool is quick to quarrel” Proverbs 20:3 [NIV]

But avoid foolish controversies and genealogies and arguments and quarrels about the law, because these are unprofitable and useless” Titus 3:9[NIV]

SM3
CULLED FROM GOOGLE PICTURES

To be honest, I’ve almost got into an argument over social media with a friend of mine. Thing is, I posted something and she decided to voice out her opinion and though we used words like ‘dear’ and ‘honey’ to reply each other, It was obvious that it was about to get serious and that we were arguing and I got annoyed not only because of the disagreement alone but because of the fact that she had my number on Whatsapp and she could have easily sent a Dm so that we could talk it out but she chose to publicly do it on my page for reasons best known to her, so when I realized that I was really getting angry, I didn’t reply her last comment, then I deleted everything [Thank God one can do that] and then I read a Bible verse pertaining to anger which was Ephesians 4:6

“In your anger do not sin. Do not let the sun go down while you are still angry”.[NIV].

Then I prayed to GOD to help me out and that was how I handled it, and till today, she still a very good friend of mine.

So ‘wonderful people of the internet, let’s all try to avoid meaningless arguments on Instagram, Facebook or whatever social media platform you are involved in , It’s not worth it, It’s not worth our time or integrity.

Leave a Reply

