Chit Chat, Faith

SOCIAL MEDIA SERIES/SOCIAL MEDIA FAST 1

Yes, Social media fast is a thing and it is something I’ve done and to be honest it’s not easy [at all!].

So, what led to my social media fast you ask? Well, it all started when I noticed that I was almost getting addicted to my phone/Social media, I would wake up in the morning and the first thing that would come to my mind would be to go to my Instagram to check the latest posts, I could hardly do anything because I was always on my phone, I would sleep late because of my phone,  and at a point I knew it was getting too much but it seemed like I couldn’t stop even if I wanted to and it really affected my relationship with God and I would constantly get this nudge in my heart which I knew was from the Holy Spirit to drop my phone for a while so I could spend time with God but I didn’t stop till I started getting a constant headache anytime I picked up my phone then I knew that God really wanted me to do this ( Social media fast that is), so I went through the fast though it was my second time, the first time I did it, I fasted for one week but it really didn’t last and when I got back to my phone, I was still addicted to social media but this second time really had an impact on me.

addicted
Culled from google pictures

  ” They made Him jealous with their foreign gods and angered him with their detestable idols” Deuteronomy 31:16 [NIV]

           “They rejected His decrees and the covenant He had made with their ancestors and the statutes He had warned them to keep.They followed worthless idols and themselves became worthless…”2 kings 17:15 [NIV]

We should really sit down and ask ourselves;

  • Has social media become an idol in my life?
  • Have I put my social media above my relationship with God?
  • Have I made God jealous by spending more time on my phone than spending time with God?
  • Have I become worthless to God by spending so much time on my phone that I can’t do my father’s business?

If your answer is yes, then you might want to consider going on a social media fast. In the next post I will tell you the benefits of going on a social media fast.

Leave a Reply

